Cypop5 Assessment 1

Assessment Task 1 ??“ Vicky Andrews

Children Act (2004)
This Act identifies five outcomes for all children. Every child has the right to:

Be healthy
Stay safe
Enjoy and achieve
Make a positive contribution
Achieve economic well-being

The Act requires for all children to be treated as individuals and to recognise that they are all are different. No two children are the same and so therefore should not be treated the same. They are all unique and all have many different personalities and they have the right to feel valued and be involved as an important part of the group. All religions, ethnic groups, and races will be treated and respected individually.

Childcare Act (2006)
This Act introduces the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) in England. The EYFS is a set of standards that must be met to ensure your child learns and develops well while also being kept healthy, safe and happy.

It seeks to provide a secure foundation through learning and development while all the time ensuring your child is being treated as an individual and they??™re individual needs are all being met. This will require regular assessments and reviews.

It involves a close working relationship between parents and/or carers and care providers.

It includes an anti-discriminatory practice which will make sure that every child is included and their requirements are being met and supported.

The EYFS has specific requirements for learning and development. These must cover:
The early learning goals that we must help children work towards to make sure they have achieved the required skill set by the end of the academic year in which they turn 5 (the end of Year R)
Specific activities and experiences to help them achieve they??™re early years goals
Continual assessments to make sure they??™re early years goals are being met. These assessments will be reported back to parents and/or carers.

There are also specific requirements which must be maintained regarding the safeguarding and welfare of your child to keep your child safe and well at all times.

Education Act (1997)
This Act incorporates all Acts since 1944 and places them all under the one heading ???Education Act??™.

There was originally the first Act (1989) which acknowledged that children have rights and states that the needs of the child are the most important.

The following Act (1993) required the Secretary of State to promote a code of practice for children with special educational needs and also allows parents of children under the age of 2 to have the right to ask for a formal assessment should they require it.

The entire Act (1997) sets a time frame on assessing the childs needs as set out in the Code of Practice (below).

Code of Practice for the Identification and Assessment of Children with Special Educational Needs (1994, revised in 2001)
This gives guidance on what the Local Educational Authorities and governing bodies of schools should be observing in order to assess the child fully.

Data Protection Act
This Act prevents any confidential or personal information from being passed on without that persons consent. In the case of a child the consent must still be obtained from the parent and/or carer.

The Role of Ofsted

Ofsted are the regulatory body which all home-based care provider must be registered with.

They are there to ensure that the care provider is meeting all the welfare requirements and learning and developmental requirements as set out in the EYFS as previously explained.

They are also there to ensure that the care provider is a suitable person to provide care for your child. This is done by completing various background checks including a police record check.

After the registration process Ofsted will inspect the premises and the services provided with a view to producing a report which will then be accessible through their website ( and a copy of which will be provided to parents and/or carers.

Ofsted are also there to investigate any complaints or concerns raised by third parties regarding either the care provider or their premises. They will investigate to ensure that welfare requirements are being met and complied with.

They can take action against the care provider should their investigation finds that welfare requirements are not being met or complied with.

These are the guidelines for registration and regulation within England. Outside of England the regulatory bodies would be:
Wales: Care and Social Services Inspectorate Wales (CSSIW) Standards
Scotland: Scottish Commission for the Regulation of Care
Northern Ireland: local Health and Social Services Trust.
The process within the four countries differs a little but all seek to achieve the same goal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *